JD733712/06/2020
5 star rating

Amazing!!! We loved our stay at Goldberry Woods!! It felt very magical walking in the woods, having our own little suite and an outstanding breakfast delivered to our door each morning. The presentation was very charming and thoughtful and the food absolutely delicious. We talked to Julie for a bit and she was very warm and welcoming. We can’t wait to come visit again!! Towline Beach and Galien forest preserve are a super short drive away and definitely worth seeing while you are there. Our stay was lovely in November~ it must be even more amazing in the summer months :)

Sara S.2/16/2021

We stayed 2/12/21 for a little overnight anniversary/Valentine's getaway. We were blown away with all of the amenities offered, even for our short overnight trip. We didn't even get to utilize most of the stuff, because of our time constraints, but we had an absolutely wonderful time. Breakfast was phenomenal, and the extra charcuterie we got was great! Great movie/book/game selections, and the extra steps they are taking due to Covid do not affect the cozy charm they have created here. It different, but you aren't going to miss out! I loved this place, and the next time we need a little get away, this will 100% be where we go!

95kristino2/17/2021
5 star rating

Fantastic getaway from Chicago My husband and I rented the creekside cottage for a long weekend getaway in February. It was snowy and cold, but we loved it all the same! The cottage was clean, well equipped, and had a nice fireplace that we used regularly. The grounds were so lovely and took a snowy walk in the woods each day of our visit. I can't wait to come back in the warmer months to see the farm in all of it's glory, but they did invite us into the greenhouse to see what was still growing mid-winter. Lastly, the food was out of this world amazing. If you stay in a cottage, I recommend paying the extra money for a breakfast from the inn because it was just so delicious! For dinner each night we easily ordered takeout from some of the lovely restaurants close by. Would highly recommend! More

Jeff B.2/09/2021

We had an amazing weekend at Goldberry Woods! Close to Lake Michigan and a super hip brewery/wine scene yet is nestled in the woods. The food was inspired and delicious, offering new tastes we never experienced before. Definitely recommend the charcuterie board! We stayed in the inn and it was extremely clean. Since it's covid season we missed out on some offerings, but we feel it's still a great value as it's comparable or only a little more than a couples meal at a farm to table restaurant. We are excited to go back during the summer or fall season and float down the river and check out the micro farm!

Grenada105/26/2021
5 star rating

Tranquil accommodations with easy access to the action We stayed at Goldberry this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. While we didn’t use the pool/hot tub having it there makes for more of a full service experience while still having the quaintness of a traditional B&B. Speaking of, the breakfast delivered to our room daily was delicious! We plan to come back and will invite family/friends!

998lindsey2/17/2021
5 star rating

Lovely place! We had a wonderful stay at Goldberry and cannot wait to go back. The house is beautiful and the landscape is gorgeous. Our room was was spotless and cozy, and the jacuzzi was so relaxing. We enjoyed walking the property... it is a winter wonderland! We have been dreaming of the breakfast ever since we left. It was different each day and they made a special vegetarian dish just for me... so delicious!

Jaimieleeclare3/08/2021
5 star rating

Cannot say enough good things!!! I stumbled upon Goldberry when I first started looking for places semi-local to elope with my *husband*. I discovered these guys and I am SO GLAD I did!

I would choose them again a million times!

We stayed with them for four days, three nights and they coordinated our elopement that went so perfectly I couldn’t pick a single thing I wish was different!

We had a five year engagement... honestly because I just didn’t know what I was doing and the thought of a big wedding terrified me... but Julie and Eric made planning and ironing out the details of our day SO EASY. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the way they decorated and the barn!!! Omg the BARN!!! I am just so, so, so happy we decided to elope with Goldberry Woods!

I could stop there... but I haven’t talked about our stay at the B&B!!!!

Clean, comfortable, we felt SO at home! The beds are SO cool and being able to laze around in the jacuzzi tub while the fireplace flickers... the romance!!!!

But wait... BREAKFAST. Y’all.... the food is exquisite. Gourmet breakfasts every morning delivered right to our door. The food. was so. damn. good!!! And they know all the good places around to get good foods!

We spent our wedding night dinner in an igloo at the restaurant down the road at their recommendation and it was just phenomenal. Such a wonderful day start to finish!!!

We didn’t even get to scratch the surface of all of the cool things to explore both on the property and the local area so we’ve definitely decided that we need to make visiting Goldberry an annual trip, if not an annual date trip and a summer vacation with the family as well!

Thank you, Julie, Eric (and staff!) for everything and making our weekend and elopement day go so perfectly.

See you next year!

Expedia r.2/08/2020

This property was just adorable. My husband and I booked this very last minute as a small weekend getaway and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The staff was EXTREMELY nice and made us feel right at home. Im disappointed we didnt have more time to spend there but we will be planning a trip back to really take advantage of this great place! Thank you so much for everything!

Jaimie M.3/08/2021

I stumbled upon Goldberry when I first started looking for places semi-local to elope with my *husband*. 🥺 I discovered these guys and I am SO GLAD I did!I would choose them again a million times!We stayed with them for four days, three nights and they coordinated our elopement that went so perfectly I couldn’t pick a single thing I wish was different!We had a five year engagement... honestly because I just didn’t know what I was doing and the thought of a big wedding terrified me... but Julie and Eric made planning and ironing out the details of our day SO EASY. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the way they decorated and the barn!!! Omg the BARN!!! 😍 I am just so, so, so happy we decided to elope with Goldberry Woods!I could stop there... but I haven’t talked about our stay at the B&B!!!!Clean, comfortable, we felt SO at home! The beds are SO cool and being able to laze around in the jacuzzi tub while the fireplace flickers... the romance!!!!But wait... BREAKFAST. Y’all.... the food is exquisite. Gourmet breakfasts every morning delivered right to our door. The food. was so. damn. good!!! And they know all the good places around to get good foods!We spent our wedding night dinner in an igloo at the restaurant down the road at their recommendation and it was just phenomenal. Such a wonderful day start to finish!!!We didn’t even get to scratch the surface of all of the cool things to explore both on the property and the local area so we’ve definitely decided that we need to make visiting Goldberry an annual trip, if not an annual date trip and a summer vacation with the family as well!Thank you, Julie, Eric (and staff!) for everything and making our weekend and elopement day go so perfectly.See you next year!

Aimee K.1/23/2017
5 star rating

My boyfriend and I stayed at Goldberry Woods this past weekend and absolutely loved it! Julie and Eric were so hospitable - we felt right at home. Everything from our cozy room to the wine and snacks to the delicious breakfast was perfect. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer! We will definitely be back.

jilldN6458SW3/08/2021
5 star rating

Anniversary weekend This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was great, despite covid. The location was fabulous and the food was delicious. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The room and beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We also loved the in room hot tub!

sharonwP1505OZ6/27/2021
5 star rating

Great family getaway We stayed in the 4 bedroom home at Goldberry Woods. We chose this property because it met our needs. My mom has mobility issues and need to be able to negotiate the home with her walker.
The teenagers wanted something to do and we wanted to bring our small, very well behaved dog. Goldberyy Woods exceeded out expectations. We enjoyed the home and it was well set up for a family. We did most of our cooking there as teenagers' are expensive to feed. The hosts are warm and accommodating
We enjoyed the pool, the corn hole , the gardens and the volleyball court. . We also explored Warren Dunes and the Friendship Botanical Gardens. WE hope to have the opportunity to return again soon.

31suzannej3/02/2021
5 star rating

Simply wonderful bed and breakfast We have stayed here previously with our whole family and rented one of the cottages. This time we came as a couple and stayed in the Inn. It was a perfect weekend getaway. The rooms are charming, quiet, and comfortable. They welcomed us with fresh baked cookies and flowers on arrival. The breakfast each morning was fabulous! Delicious, fresh, and beautifully presented! The grounds are beautiful, even in February, and we enjoyed strolling through the woods and along the river. There are dozens of places to sit and enjoy nature, either outdoors or through a window. The outdoor hot tub was a nice addition since our last visit. We look forward to returning when the opportunity arises. More

Rockne o.6/03/2021

Excellent. We live in near-by South Bend, Ind. and stayed here to celebrate our 35 year anniversary. It was a perfect getaway!

Megan K.10/18/2015
5 star rating

We had the most amazing stay forour anniversary weekend! Julie and Eric were fantastic inn keepers and so accommodating. Breakfast was different each day and so yummy! Julie, you are an amazing cook! The property itself is beautiful and fun to explore. They offer great suggestions of things to do nearby as well. We stayed in the Silver Maple room, beautifully decorated, nice, bright and open! I would give Goldberry woods 10 stars if I could! We can not wait to visit again.

Heather E.1/10/2021

Beautiful room and property. The breakfast,charcuterie and champagne were delicious! Great hospitality and would definitely stay again. We had a wonderful weekend away.

Joann S.2/08/2018

Beautiful grounds, delicious farm to table breakfast and the rooms are incredibly comfortable!

Adrian C.12/05/2020
5 star rating

I can't speak highly enough about this bed and breakfast. Comfortable sleeping arrangements, friendly innkeepers, lots of activities to do on-site, great restaurants in the area and an amazing breakfast. Looking forward to come back in the near future.

Tyler &.2/08/2018

The pictures dont do this place justice! Julie and Eric do a great job making sure their guests feel at home, and there is enough space to allow for privacy. The daily breakfast was always amazing and the portions were spot on! Overall 5 stars, absolutely will stay again

Hotels.com r.2/08/2018

The owners are friendly, accommodating, responsive and helpful. The setting is picturesque, and the area is scenic Michigan at its best. Between accessibility, the lake, the woods, wineries, restaurants, with beautiful beaches, trails for walking, running and biking, and just about every activity imaginable: Goldberry Woods is the perfect getaway. Oh, one more thing, the breakfasts are sensational!

melissa s.2/08/2018

Perfect. Clean. Comfortable. Rustic. Friendly. Flawless service and attention to detail.

Jon P.2/08/2020

This is our favorite bed and breakfast. We have tried many others in the area, but they just dont compare. The breakfasts are fantastic, wonderful afternoon wine & snacks, homemade cookies, friendly & cozy atmosphere. We will continue to come back

Hotels.com r.2/08/2020

Our innkeepers could not have been more accommodating or welcoming! They made our stay feel like we in a home away from home. The breakfast was fabulous! I would love to go back and see it when everything is blooming. Love that there were room options that were larger with a second bed in a separate area allowing privacy for both of us. Appreciated the inclusion of the wine (2) hours!

Mark D.2/08/2019

Absolutely amazing B&B!The wife and I had one great one night two day stay her in this little Shangri-La. Rooms were adorable from the branch built beds and canopies to the peekaboo hot tub! The innkeepers are happy smiling folks with an awesome sense for hospitality... Not to mention an amazing breakfast! The inn sits on a huge wooded area with a river for paddling ( Goldberry provided) kayak or canoe through. Or just wander around the middle of the mind blowing organically grown garden! When/if, you're ready to go off sight you'll find it's close to tons of stuff to do and see.Put this one on your bucket list!

John M.2/07/2021

The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, & has 30 acres with gardens and hiking trails. They offer canoes, paddle boards, and kayaks for the river, too. I’m coming back for a summer trip!

966deannar11/25/2020
5 star rating

Nice place to stay We stayed in the Ironwood Suite. It was clean and the host was very kind. The sheets were super soft, the bed comfortable, the shower/tub huge enough for two, and the coffee delicious! I wish we would have been there longer and during warmer months, because we would have tried the trails, bikes, and kayaks. Maybe next time!

Cheryl K.3/30/2015
5 star rating

Very cute and cozy place! The rooms are beautiful! Julie and Eric were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. We will definitely tell people to stay here if they are in the area. Just wish we would have came in summer where we could enjoy enjoy more outdoor activities. You won't be disappointed staying here tho!! Great selection of board games to play also :)

J4922ZTkatem3/14/2021
5 star rating

Girls weekend First time staying here. Clean, great hiking trails. All the staff was super friendly and helpful. Very accommodating for food restrictions! Rooms were beautiful, very relaxing weekend. Food was amazing! Highly recommend staying here!

Robert E.2/08/2019

Stunning jewel. Can't wait to visit again. This is a bed and breakfast, and an organic micro-farm. They have well appointed cottages (don't know what the rooms in the main house are like but I'm sure they are nicer than the cottages and the cottage we stayed in was awesome and pet friendly) and beautiful grounds. Canoes and kayaks for hitting the river, plenty of bikes, and games galore all included in the cost of your stay. Their is a firepit and a free wine tasting in the evening. The breakfast and service in the morning was first class all the way. Most impressive is the variety of organic fruits and vegetables growing in their garden which they freely let their guests pick and eat straight off the vine. Well run, well maintained, beautiful property, delicious food, great for couples and/or families.

Michigan A.3/08/2020

Clean, friendly, great food and wonderful property. Checks all our boxes. We look forward to our next stay! Thanks Eric and Julie!

Lynette H.2/17/2021

Fantastic. Eric and Julie are the real deal and have created a beautiful place to unplug and truly rest. We have been going to Goldberry Woods for years and it has been a great experience every time.

Expedia r.2/08/2018

Eric and Julie the owners are great and very helpful

Amber P.2/08/2018

I look forward to coming here every year. My husband and I are going back in October for our 4th wedding anniversary, and this will be our 3rd visit. Eric and Julie are incredible host, the food is always great, and the rooms are so comfortable we tend to bring some of our own DVD's or streaming device and have a cozy weekend in! The walking trails, the proximity to the Dunes for a walk, and nearby wineries allow for things to do outside of the B&B. The Jacuzzi tub is wonderful, we love that the side doors open, the fireplace keeps your room nice and toasty, and in the common rooms you can find books, DVD's or games to play. Definitely recommend the American Hornbeam room with all the extra windows and skylights, with the deck.

chelseagL6372TZ6/28/2021
5 star rating

We love Goldberry Woods This trip was amazing. We stayed in the innkeepers house. It was beautiful, well maintained, and had plenty of room for the 11 people and two dogs that stayed. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and well heated. We got to explore the river on the kayaks they provide along with the free tick spray the provide when going into the wooded areas. The kids loved the playground and berry picking, along with the chickens, ducks, and quails. The owners are very helpful and even provided us with beach chairs, beach toys, and beach towels. I was so pleased with this area and especially this sweet little quiet retreat. Can’t wait to come back. More

Hotels.com r.2/08/2019

What a wonderful couple of days we had at Goldberry Woods. Eric and Julie were excellent hosts, the property is very nice, breakfasts were great, and the apple pie was simply superb!!

T4725QPtiffanyh4/14/2021
5 star rating

Anniversary trip My husband and I stayed at Goldberry Woods overnight for our anniversary. We had a very relaxing time. I would love to come back in the summer to be able to take advantage of the outdoor activities. We liked that it was. Close to different restaurants also

John M.2/07/2021

The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, & has 30 acres with gardens and hiking trails. They offer canoes, paddle boards, and kayaks for the river, too. I’m coming back for a summer trip!

mstr924mom4/13/2021
5 star rating

Girls Weekend Birthday Celebration We stayed in the Ironwood Suite and it was beautiful. It was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were lovely and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! It is a great location for wine tasting in Union Pier and exploring New Buffalo.

Hotels.com r.2/08/2020

Very laid back atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful. They gave good descriptions of places to eat dinner. The room was as spectacular as the pictures. Breakfast was amazing. You sit in family style eating and they cook the food right there in front of you. All was very fresh and delicious.

Robin S.2/09/2016

My Mom, sister and I stayed at the cottage and had a wonderful time. Julie was very sweet and friendly. Eric was great about information on what to do in the area, not to mention super personable! The Inn is fabulous!! Had a great stay and we will be back!!

Gail K10/21/2020
5 star rating

anniversary getaway What a wonderful all around experience. The location is in a lovely wooded area with so many entertaining options such as wineries, shopping, beaches, near by. The Silver Maple room was just perfect. The breakfast both mornings were outstandingly delish! Not your grannies pancakes and eggs, definitely gourmet. Eric was very kind when greeting us and in an informative relaxing way showed us around and to our room. They have installed new covid practices and we felt safe in their clean and comfy place. The perfect place to relax for a 47th anniversary trip. We will return.

Chad K.2/09/2016

Second time we've been here. Great place to get away from the city, plus we enjoy the microfarm/woods etc.. that they have going.

Sue A.2/08/2020

Outstanding with excellent hosts

Hotels.com r.3/08/2020

Comfortable room and well kept house. The Inn Keepers were very nice and attentive.

Naresh R.4/28/2021

We loved it. Their breakfast is one of the best at any BnB. Of all the properties we have stayed in, they have the most beautiful grounds. Plenty for kids to do on rainy and cold days too. Beautiful trails in the property. Would come again.

Michele8/09/2019

Good The breakfast food was good and the deserts was amazing.its a nice get away

Hotels.com r.5/28/2021

Very nice room to relax after a day at wineries. Great location and parking. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotels.com r.2/08/2020

The breakfast food was good and the deserts was amazing.its a nice get away

e e.9/08/2013
5 star rating

Best B&B around!We stayed at Eric and Julie's adorable bed and breakfast tucked away in Union Pier for the weekend and couldn't be happier with our pick. They may be new at keeping a B&B, but you wouldn't guess it. Goldberry is comfortable and cozy, and before you've finished your breakfast, they're already offering another helping! It was like staying at your friends house for the weekend.The Rooms: Very clean and updated with some fun vintage touches. We stayed in the Ironwood suite - a room in the front of the house off the kitchen. It has a fire place, extra sun room with trundle bed and enormous bathtub. In the main areas, there's also an extra bathroom stocked with any forgotten items (beach towel, hair dryer, toothpaste, etc). The Breakfast: It gets its own category. DELISH. Julie's an amazing cook who really enjoys trying new recipes. She takes great care in creating menus that meet all guests dietary needs, as well as choosing fresh and local ingredients when possible. She tried out her cinnamon chips with fruit salsa on us for the first time... a winner!The Inn: Well kept grounds that are the beginnings of a grand plan. There's a bags game, volleyball net, kayaks, bikes, walking trail. Julie and Eric also have a good sized garden and orchard you can wander around. The Inn has a huge kitchen/dining area with old farm tables. A couple living rooms to hang out in. There's snacks and refreshments around 24/7 (cookie bar at midnight is the best...) They've also collected a variety of books, games and movies....local menus and attraction info to help make the most of your time. Eric and Julie truly enjoy running their Inn, and it shows. I can't wait to return to see what else they've done and what new recipes Julie's mastered!

Kimberly H.2/08/2017

Went here with my fiance a year ago and we both loved every minute of it! So much so, that we are planning another visit in a few weeks. Goldberry is worth every penny! I thought I had already reviewed, otherwise I wouldn't have waited so long to do so.

mommachef033/29/2021
5 star rating

Peaceful getaway I am an educator and to say it's been a challenging year is an understatement. I started my spring break with a much-needed 2 night getaway at Goldberry. I was traveling alone and felt completely safe here. The pace and the vibe here is very calm and peaceful--just what I needed!! The traffic coming from Chicago on Friday was horrible, so I called and told Eric I was running later than I had hoped. He was like "no big deal, see ya when you get here." I stayed in the Sassafrass room and it was so comfy. The bed is gorgeous. Being able to see the tv and fireplace from the jacuzzi tub made my first night there very relaxing. I slept like a baby. Breakfast is A.MAZ.ING. Right now because of COVID, breakfast is delivered to your door and there is so much food. Everything was so, so good that I had to eat it all. It kept me full for most of the day. And the coffee?? YUMMMMMM! The grounds are beautiful. I loved checking out the hiking trails and walking along the river with my coffee each morning (I brought my own travel mug). Eric & Julie have recommendations for things to do in the area and are happy to answer any questions. I'm glad I got a room with a balcony as the weather was gorgeous and I enjoyed sitting out there to read and bask... I am an educator and to say it's been a challenging year is an understatement. I started my spring break with a much-needed 2 night getaway at Goldberry.

I was traveling alone and felt completely safe here.

The pace and the vibe here is very calm and peaceful--just what I needed!! The traffic coming from Chicago on Friday was horrible, so I called and told Eric I was running later than I had hoped. He was like "no big deal, see ya when you get here."

I stayed in the Sassafrass room and it was so comfy. The bed is gorgeous. Being able to see the tv and fireplace from the jacuzzi tub made my first night there very relaxing. I slept like a baby.

Breakfast is A.MAZ.ING. Right now because of COVID, breakfast is delivered to your door and there is so much food. Everything was so, so good that I had to eat it all. It kept me full for most of the day. And the coffee?? YUMMMMMM!

The grounds are beautiful. I loved checking out the hiking trails and walking along the river with my coffee each morning (I brought my own travel mug). Eric & Julie have recommendations for things to do in the area and are happy to answer any questions.

I'm glad I got a room with a balcony as the weather was gorgeous and I enjoyed sitting out there to read and bask in the sunlight.

I can't wait to come back another time during another season! More

dipper3016/19/2021
5 star rating

Lovely Inn in the Woods Our second stay here and was great as before. We stayed in the the White Birch room and it’s just lovely with its beautiful bed and sitting area; not to mention the bonus room with the trundle bed. Breakfast was fantastic as expected. Don’t forget your swim suit as to enjoy the pool and hot tub.
This is most certainly a professionally run establishment. Most highly recommend

Christen T.8/25/2016
5 star rating

I want to move in to Goldberry Woods! We stayed for two nights as an escape from summer in the city and it could not have been more amazing. We were able to decompress, enjoy the beautiful property, and still be adventurous in kayaking the Galien River. We enjoyed wonderful dinners nearby, delicious breakfasts each morning, and the short jaunt to the beach. I can't recommend Goldberry Woods enough!

Mansoor P.2/08/2019

This place is fantastic. The rooms are beautiful bed and breakfast Proprietors are wonderful people and the scenery here is gorgeous.

Christy B.5/26/2021

Can't say enough great things about this place. Lovely, thoughtful, unique rooms. Each with its own interesting bed. (Don't get me started on the American Hornbeam!!)The entire space was immaculate, including the wonderful in room jacuzzi tub. The breakfast was a gourmet's delight. Custom made for my dietary restrictions.(gotta love that) The pool and outdoor hot tub felt fabulous after a hike at the dunes. Close to the beach and lots of great restaurants/microbreweries. So happy we found this little jewel. Thank you so much to our gracious hosts...We are definitely coming back!

Hotels.com r.2/08/2018

Goldberry was great for an evening away, the fact that they accommodated my wife and I for a one night stay was rare, being that the other B and Bs in the areas required 2-3 night minimum. Perfect for busy folks that only have a chance to get away for one night. Plus everyone was extremely nice and professional

Joe M.7/03/2017
5 star rating

We rented the whole place out for a wedding. Loved it. I am gluten free and they made sure they had food for me. The rooms are so nice. Love the beds. The bathrooms are so roomy. Your not to far from the beach, its a quick ride. Very friendly. For sure would go back.

Emily W.9/05/2017
5 star rating

My husband and I stayed at Goldberry Woods for our honeymoon at the end of August. We booked for 1 night, but loved the place so much that we added on a second night! Eric and Julie were wonderful hosts and there was so much to do on the property alone. We rode bikes, kayaked and ventured into town to try the local dinner spots. Our room was wonderful, clean and comfortable and the breakfast at the house was delicious and so unique. We will definitely be returning in the future!

Kris H.8/04/2013
5 star rating

This place is amazing. Great food, great service and excellent advice on the best restaurants. Will be back.

ZAtravelers3/30/2021
5 star rating

Babymoon Getaway We loved our stay here! Very clean and we loved the homey feel. The food was delicious. We would love to come visit in the summer sometime when everything is up and running and alive as our stay was at the beginning of Spring. We loved our stay regardless!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3